What is a SIG?

A Special Interest Group is a group of individuals who are interested in a specialised focus/ topic/problem/area in education.

GUIDELINES for SIGs

  1. The purpose of SAERA SIGs is to advance research specializations on topics of shared interest. These may include problematics, theory and practice of education.
  2. SIGs are free to organize themselves as they see fit. The minimum requirement is that SIGs need 5 members to constitute themselves; they need to represent more than one institution; they need to be SAERA members; and, SIG members and/or a representative of the SIG must attend the SAERA conference.
  3. SIGs need to mobilize interest across institutions and domains and may be multidisciplinary.
  4. An annual report on SIG activities and membership needs to be submitted to the SAERA Executive. Such reports need to be sent to the President at least 14 days before the SAERA conference so that they may be included in the President’s report to the conference.
  5. SIGs can only raise funds in the name of SAERA and not in the name of the SIG. All such fund raising initiatives need to be in line with SAERA policies, and communicated to the Treasurer and President of SAERA.
  6. SIGs may meet at a SAERA conference as a SIG to discuss the constitution of its membership and future activities of the SIG.
  7. SIGs may organize their own conferences, with the prior knowledge and support of the SAERA Executive. The financial and organizational aspects of such a conference will be carried by the SIG and reported to the President of SAERA.
  8. SIGs may arrange a Special Edition of the SAERA Journal of Education. Such special editions will be approved by the Editor of the Journal of Education and reported to the SAERA Executive.

Procedures for setting up a SIG

A minimum requirement to establish a SIG is five SAERA members, who represent more than one institution. The five (or more) members need to email the following information to Wayne Hugo (hugo@ukzn.ac.za):

  • Provide a motivation for the new SIG, explaining its purpose and why the SIG is important and offers something different to existing SIGs
  • Provide a list of members, email, institution and their roles within the SIG.

A list of SIGS will be included on SAERA membership application and renewal forms.

One member of the SAERA executive committee will have SIGS as a portfolio.

SIGS should be allocated a specific space within the conference structure to accommodate their meeting and sharing of research.

The following SIGS are established:

  1. Action Research – Lesley Wood (lesley.wood@nwu.ac.za)
  2. Interaction Studies – Gert van der Westhuizen (gertvdw@uj.ac.za)
  3. System wide educational change – Brahm Fleisch (brahm.fleisch@wits.ac.za)
  4. Research in initial teacher education – Lee Rusznyak (lee.rusznyak@wits.ac.za)
  5. Emotions in Education– Carola Steinberg (Carola.Steinberg@wits.ac.za)
  6. Self reflexive methodologies – Kathleen Pithouse-Morgan, (pithousemorgan@ukzn.ac.za)
  7. Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) – Joy Papier   jpapier@uwc.ac.za
  8. Peace and Violence – Crispin Hemson (icon@dut.ac.za)
  9. Human Rights Literacies and Education Research – Nazir Carrim (nazir.carrim@wits.ac.za) and Cornelia Roux (cdr@sun.ac.za)
  10. Inclusive Education – Elizabeth Walton   (elizabeth.walton@wits.ac.za)
  11. Curriculum – Labby Ramrathan (RamrathanP@ukzn.ac.za)
  12. Critical Education Studies – Dirk Postma (dpostma@uj.ac.za)
  13. Assessment and Testing – Anil Kanjee (kanjeea@tut.ac.za)

If you wish to join one of these SIGS, please contact the SIG co-ordinator. If you wish to establish a new SIG, please contact Wayne Hugo (hugo@ukzn.ac.za)